Blackboard Learn- Announcements are sent even if the course is closed. Is there an option to choose so the announcement doesn't go out if the course is closed?
can you expand on this use case a little further? Are you referring to the use of Ultra Course View? If this is the case, when an Ultra course is complete (closed) then no further edits can take place on the course including the addition of announcements.
I am referring to both versions. When the course is closed and I open an announcement and edit it. Blackboard will send the announcement out anyway to all in the course.
can you clarify what you mean by the term 'closed'. Does this mean unavailable for student access (Private) or complete i.e. read only in respect to UCV and no further edits can take place? In both of these cases, i.e. a course is either private or complete, notifications should not be sent or displayed to an end user in the Activity Stream. If however this is original course view, and as part of the new announcement or edit workflow of an existing you had the option of 'Send a copy of this announcement' selected, then even though the course is private and therefore not accessible for students, it will still send a copy of that announcement to all users of the course. If this is not the case, then you may be experiencing a bug and i would suggest you have this logged with our Support team for triage.
thanks for the suggestion. It is the original course view and the announcements go out even if the course is marked private and I did not check "send announcement now."
I will contact my support team.
Retrieving data ...