mh22766

Content Collection + Deletion

Discussion created by mh22766 on Mar 7, 2018
Latest reply on Apr 10, 2018 by bl31720

Hi-

I had a weird case with the Content Collection and course deletions.

Two faculty members called me in a panic and told me that all their files were missing from their current courses. I took a look and many attachments (not all) were missing. Basically, next to the file was an error message (file does not exist).

 

I asked the faculty members if they deleted anything out of the course content area and they both said no.

I then went and checked past courses and the past courses were missing the same files.

 

The only change to the server was that I deleted courses that were over a year old.

 

I restored these 2 courses and the files were there. I then moved the files to the current course and relinked them.

 

It seems like when I deleted the old courses.....the files were still linked from the new courses to the content collection area in the old course.

 

My question, how does this happen? I thought xythos was supposed to prevent this from happening?!?

Outcomes