in Blackboard Learn 9.1, if a student drops or withdraws from a course, how do you manage that student's enrollment? Do you disable or delete the enrollment from the course?
Most clients use disables for students dropping courses because a disabled enrollment still retains all the student's data (exams, assignments, grades, etc) so if they decide to re-enroll or the drop was a mistake they don't lose all their work. A delete removes all associated data permanently so they would have to re-do all work in that course if they decided to re-enroll.
Note that a disabled enrollment is not visible to the instructor anywhere, so as far as the instructor is concerned they dropped the course. Admins can see disabled enrollments by viewing enrollments through the System Admin tab.
If the student withdraws from the course before what we term the census date [4th Friday of term], the date payment is due, they are removed from the course site.
If they withdraw after census date, they remain in the course site -- not sure what happens to access (I'm in a different department). This is as the course is recorded on their academic transcript, with a withdrawl recorded. Grades transfer from Grade Centre to our SIS so the student still needs to be in the course site.
This is how things work where I am to handle Australian processes and regulations; I guess they may work differently in the US given different payment and admin processes.
The SIS integration we use to get enrollment data from our Student Information System (we use Colleague) is configured to perform a "Complete Refresh" each time we sync the systems. This process disables enrollments that are not in the current roster from the SIS. If a student is reinstated into a course, then the next time we sync Blackboard with our SIS, Bb will pick up that this student is in the course and will restore the enrollment. Any data associated with the student (submissions, grades, etc.) is also restored when the student's access to the course is restored. If an enrollment is deleted (instead of being disabled), any data associated with that student is deleted from the course. Because of this, we never delete a student from a course, but rather disable their enrollment.... just in case.
Hi all - according to the dates I am a bit late to this party but I have a related question.
I understand the ramifications of deleting an enrollment in a course. How ever I have a case where I really do want to delete the enrollment record.
We have a training course for faculty to complete, if they have not started/completed the course in a specific period of time AND they have not taught using Bb.
We want to totally remove them from the course (delete). If they wish to start the training process at a future time they start the request new and follow the procedures and are re-enrolled into this course and some other organizations.
What is the correct SIS file format to delete an enrollment..
I swear the schema says:
But it is not working for me... any suggestions? ... Thanks Martha
When you say its not working, are you getting any errors, or is the file processed okay but the delete just does not happen?
If it is the latter, check the delete action in the integration settings. To really delete, you need it set to Purge.
If you only want to delete in some instances, then you can create a second integration with Purge that you just use for these real deletes.
Hello Martha Kendall,
First you didn't give any data under the header i.e. AVAILABLE_IND, if you are deleting/disabling then you have to use AVAILABLE_IND as N and also use one more header i.e. DATA_SOURCE_KEY (ex: enrollment.txt)
Although you would expect to have a value for AVAILABLE_IND and probably ought to put one in, you can get away without providing it for a delete (at least it works fine on 3000.1.3).
I don't think you need the data source field. Its not necessary in the environments I use, but maybe you need it for some combination of integration settings?
Best Practice is to Disable the user.
Retrieving data ...