When running the Content Orphaned by Location report, is it safe to delete any content that is not showing up as linked? We do not have Content Management.
When this feature first came about, we had problems where some content that was marked as orphaned was still being linked to by courses. When we deleted the content, it broke the courses. I understand this problem has long since been fixed and shouldn't happen with new orphaned content, but we're still skittish about deleting any of the existing orphaned content because it's just not worth the risk if it is being used.
We usually choose the option to automatically delete the course files when deleting courses now, so no more orphaned content is generated, but we still have a lot of it sitting around from years past.
Also, all that orphaned content will take up serious space in your contracted system space. Unlinked orphaned content can be found with a query by your BTB folks if you are managed hosted or maybe your sys admin can write one if you self-host.
Orphaned content will be counted as part of contracted space. So we delete any orphaned content that is not showing up as linked. But I still try to find out the best practices for linked orphaned content.
Retrieving data ...