69 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2017 4:18 PM by feeney.linda

April 2017 Q2 CU2 (now CU3)- Sharing experiences

feeney.linda

Our manage-hosted production system was updated to April 2017 Q2 CU2 in mid-August. Although we had tested this release on our staging servers, there were plenty of problems left to find. Unfortunately, this release is quite buggy. This discussion are is for others who are at the same release or contemplating upgrades soon.

Emergency update to CU3 on September 17. Authentication issues resolved. Other problems remain.

Message was edited by: Linda Feeney

• Re: April 2017 Q2 CU2 - Sharing experiences
          feeney.linda

Not a bug, but two observations...

Changes to the 2012 Theme will cause some interesting display issues for admins. I had always left themes to one of my staff members who has been transferred to another department. For this update I was a branding newbie.

The 2012 theme has been updated and all is fine, but we did see unexpected changes -- extraneous text was included in admin reporting screens and the Blackboard wordmark was displayed as a large image in the upper right portion of the screen on the Admin tab.

• Re: April 2017 Q2 CU2 (now CU3)- Sharing experiences
              ja25870

I noticed these same issues with our custom theme in our test environment. Several tabs are invisible on initial login; covered by the global navigation menu. Clicking and then closing the menu moves it to the upper right corner where it belongs and permits users to see the missing tabs; however, I fear that most users will not think of trying this. There are other quirks to the theme's appearance. I have tried reverting back to the default 2012 theme but it does not resolve the issues; it seems like Blackboard is trying to force customers to move to the 2016 theme.

feeney.linda