3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2017 2:05 PM by jefflong

BlackBoard App server monitoring

gk30746

Hi All,

Can anyone suggest a better tool for monitoring BlackBoard App server? Can Cacti monitor JMX? Or is there any other better option for the same?

• Re: BlackBoard App server monitoring
          af0055432

I want to preface this comment with two things:

1. Monitoring is a very tricky thing, you need to balance between collecting data too frequently or not frequent enough. You need to ensure your triggers aren't too light, if people start getting too many messages, eventually people see the system as a "boy who cried wolf". If you or your institution are looking to begin monitoring your applications, let them know that time invested into planning will help tremendously and help you realise the RoI.
          2. I am a Zabbix Certified Professional. I'm not trying to sell anything, I have a lot of experience with this that I just don't have for any other monitoring systems.

I've worked with an open source piece of software named Zabbix for approximately 7 years, at least 5 of those years I've been using it to monitor my Blackboard application servers.

Without being sure on your environment or your organisation, the following pieces of Zabbix functionality are likely to help you out:

• Simple Checks (Agentless. Including: Ping, port status, page scraping, etc)
          • Zabbix Agent (Includes: CPU % Used, % Memory Used, % Disk Full, etc)
          • JMX Monitoring (Agentless. Includes: Number of user sessions, number of abandoned sessions, number of errors, B2 metrics)
          • ODBC Monitoring (Agentless. Can query underlying databases for data/metrics)
          • Log File Monitoring (Needs an agent. Can read log files and raise alarms when regular expression conditions are met)

Because you've mentioned by name that you're looking for JMX monitoring, these are my recommendations/pointers: