When an assignment in Ultra has been viewed by any student, it is no longer possible for a lecturer to delete or re-upload an attached file that is in a separate block. The lecturer also cannot create new blocks in the assessment (the sign doesn't appear).
This is a problem for the following reasons:
- it's not uncommon to want to update a file attached to an assessment piece, even (and perhaps especially) after students have had a chance to look at it.
- it's not made clear to the lecturer why they are unable to delete the file.
- it's still possible to edit the text block, which can contain uploaded files, so the academic integrity of "not changing an assignment after students have seen it" is not satisfied anyway.
- it's not possible for the lecturer to see which students have viewed the assessment, so they can't know who is stopping them from editing the assessment.
- it's not possible for the lecturer to 'reset' their viewing status (there's no submitted attempt to delete).
- it's not possible for even an administrator to reset their viewing status except by unenrolling/reenrolling the student, which would delete any assessment attempts for all other assignments in the subject.
This is a significant issue that several of our lecturers have complained about, but I've been a little slow in investigating it thoroughly. It's quite a high priority, however, especially as we roll out significantly more Ultra courses in the coming year.
|Product Version (if applicable):||1|