Allow students read-only access to previous courses

Idea created by js0056397 on May 15, 2018
    Under review
    Score0

    We at Dalarna Uni create new courses for each semester, enrolling the students for that particular semester into the correct course. Our current SIS integration creates these rooms with an end availability date defaulting to 1 year past the end of the course.

     

    There are a number of issues with this, making that time frame too long AND too short at the same time. Too long because it is unintuitive to have old courses populate the "Ongoing courses" column in the Ultra Course Listing and too short because students have the need and desire to navigate to previous courses way past that 12 month since the course ended.

     

    I therefore propose that Blackboard develops the ability to give still enrolled students read-only access to now unavailable courses. This mimics the way that "Completed" functions for Ultra course rooms but it should be possible to schedule that read-only switch, or trigger it via SIS integration.

    Product Version (if applicable):0