[NOTIFICATIONS] When adding content : be able to NOT notify about it (notification collection blacklist)

Idea created by yoleneors on Mar 7, 2016
    Archived
    Score11

    When adding content : be able to NOT notify about it (notification collection blacklist)

    Description :

         Currently : If you have notifications set to warn students when there is new content posted (which is what most Professors want) then any time you add content , and if this content is visibile/available for students then it's collected in the notification list and sent out (individual mail or daily digest or dashboard or mobile)

        The issue : It's quite common for Professors to work on their course, add documents or a new way to show a document which was already there (ex: it was a File, but they decide it's better as a Item so he creates an Item and deletes the File ), or put documents which are bonus but not crucial, etc ... then the Professor is unhappy with the facts that students get notified and confused about what's going on in their course (whereas their goal in reorganizing/re-designing was to make it clearer)

         Preferably : It would be great when you add a content item (or even any type of content in a course content zone) to be able to tick a box to exclude from the notifications collection.

    Why does it matter ? What's the impact ?  It avoid having students feeling spammed when a Professor is reworking on the course. It avoid detering Professors from improving their course design.

     

    (other Notifications ideas : Product enhancements : Notifications )

    Product Version (if applicable):