General Feedback for Coursesites after the Fall Semester

Document created by bbeamer on Dec 18, 2018
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

I have been using CourseSites since 2013. I was so happy to discover it, as my institution's in-house course management software was very bare bones. When the announcement came for the updated version of CourseSites, I was ready to embrace it with enthusiasm. I love how easy CourseSites has made running my classes. After the fall semester, however, I feel the need to take the time and give some honest feedback.

I say this with all the respect in the word for the Blackboard's developers: the new CourseSites is awful. I'm not writing this simply to insult the system or the people that make it. I'm writing this because I'm concerned for the future of a product that, up until now, I had championed year after year. There are multiple things that need to be addressed for CourseSites to be a viable tool for managing a course online. Some of them, I fear, I pretty deep in the core design. Nonetheless, here is the list I have compiled so far. I desperately hope that my comments will be taken to heart:

1. Registering for courses via invitation links. It is very easy to click an invitation link from an email but not actually joint he class after logging in or creating an account. If the student fails to create an account the first time due to user error, or fails to log in the first time, or clicks the wrong "sign in" button, the information that the system needs to auto-join a course upon login can easily be dropped, and the student needs to try again. I had to help many students this semester and very often clicking one "sign in" button rather than another was what needed to happen to get them into the course.