Disk Usage Report Utilization and Understanding

Document created by mhawthorne on Mar 29, 2018
Version 1Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Disk Usage and clean up can be a tricky prospect.
This document will attempt to explain how to use the Disk Usage Report in the Blackboard system to determine how much space you can hope to get back by deleting a course or list of courses.

 

Disk usage has eight columns of info.
More info can be found at the following url https://en-us.help.blackboard.com/Learn/Administrator/SaaS/Courses/030_Manage_Courses/080_Best_Practice_Limit_Course_Size

Course ID
Course Name
Status
Course Files
Protected Course Files
Legacy Filesystem
Soft Limit
Total Size


Column Explanations:

Course ID : The ID of the course
Course Name: The Name of the course
Status: If the course is Available or Unavailable
Course Files: The amount of disk space utilized by Course Content (See below for a  more descriptive explanation)
Protected Course Files: The amount of disk space utilized for Protected Course Files (See below for a  more descriptive explanation)
Legacy Filesystem: The amount of disk space utilized for Legacy (pre 9.1) Course Files (See below for a  more descriptive explanation)
Soft Limit: Disk Usage Quote imposed by Administration on the course
Total Size: The total disk usage for the course calculated by adding the following three columns Course Files, Protected Course Files, Legacy Filesystem

Detailed Explanations:
Course Files:
Data stored in course files.

Protected Course Files:
Files that are used in assignments, tests, and student submissions. Protected Storage guards student privacy by providing a non-searchable, non-discoverable space for the storage of student submitted materials. In contrast, Course Files are tied to the content system, and materials in Course Files are searchable and discoverable by users based on their system or course roles.

Legacy Filesystem:
If your institution upgraded to a version of Learn prior to Release 9.1, this refers to storage for all files that were used in the course prior to that upgrade. Files are not moved during upgrade for in-place courses. Courses that are restored, imported, or copied after upgrading to Release 9.1 or later versions no longer use this type of storage, even if the original source course did so.
Some course tools that require private file storage may be stored in Legacy Filesystem Files instead of Protected Files. Learn more about these files and how they are saved.


Disk Usage Utilization:
Utilizing the following three columns Course Files, Protected Course Files, Legacy Filesystem, you can get an estimate of how much disk space you may get back by deleting a course or list of courses:

Total size is the combination of the other Course Files, Protected Course Files, Legacy Filesystem
There is no way you as a client will ever get back 100% of total size in any course if files are in Course Files, without insuring all Course Files have been removed, meaning all courses that utilize the file must be removed as well.
So, deleting a course does not necessarily result in significant server space being reclaimed, depending on the level of duplication.

With that said however the following matrix below will give you a better idea of the space you can expect to see coming back.
NOTE: The matrix below is assuming there are no errors that have caused data to be left behind.
Computers and computer systems should be realized that they are never perfect and issues may arise.

So errors and issues notwithstanding the below data is as accurate as we can advise when it comes to gaining back disk usage form course deletions

Course Files ß- you will get 0-100% of your disk space back (depending on the level of duplication)
Protected Course Files ß you will get 90-100% of your disk space back (depending on the level of duplication)
Legacy Files ß you will get 100% of your disk space back (To insure this you need to make a MH case and request Orphaned Legacy Content be deleted to insure nothing was left behind)

Attachments

    Outcomes