Bbworld17 In Review: Member Spotlight- Molly Mead

Version 2

This past Summer, I was able to sit down with a very interesting person from the world of Educational Technology. This Instructional Designer from the University of Missouri-Kansas City described how her school used Blackboard's Analytics tools to assess their teachers after different training methods! After her speech, I caught up with her for a few minutes to hear her thoughts on where Education is going and what role Analytics would play in it.

Matt Sexton: Could you tell me your name and what role you’re in now?

Molly Mead: Sure! Hi, I’m Molly Mead, I’m an instructional designer at University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC).

MS: You just made a really interesting speech in there. Would you mind giving (our readers) a quick overview about it?

MM: Sure, at my university I’m in a division called UMKC Online. We’re very concerned with the quality of our online teaching and our online courses. And so, to that end, we used Analytics for Learn to examine whether faculty teaching behaviors changed after our

faculty took a certification in online teaching course. And the results of that study were that in every measure that we looked at in terms of faculty teaching behavior in online courses; so that’s number of minutes spent in the course, number of interactions with students, and a variety of other different other measures we looked at. Every single faculty teaching measure stood as statistically, significantly higher after successful completion of the faculty certification course.

MS: That’s really interesting. I know that’s not (always) involved with IT administrators (job responsibilities) nowadays, when they pass along material to teachers. Sounds like very useful research. Speaking about the online certification course, what did you say was covered in that?