Member Spotlight: Ester Muñoz

Version 4

Rachel Reiss: Where are you from, and where are you now?

Ester Muñoz Aparicio: I am from southern Spain, but live in Finland with my family since 2011. Before that, I was profile-image-display.jspa?imageID=2897&size=1000coming a going in between the two countries for quite a few years (since 98), when I was an exchange student in Finland and love knocked on my door. At this moment I work for eLearning Media, one of the Blackboard Spanish partners, trying to keep our clients as happy as possible with their products, by helping them with problems that may arise, all sort of customizations or made-to-measure training sessions.

RR: You have been in tech support, training, administration, sales engineering, consulting, and course design – which has been your favorite role?

EA: I would say support and consulting. I love solving problems, and these give me an opportunity to make a living out of something I truly enjoy.  Course design is also a nice thing to do and training adults is fun.

RR: You’ve worked for public universities, private companies, and the government.  Which has been your best experience?

EA: They all have been great both professionally and personally (I still have friends in all of them), but the most interesting without a doubt was working for ESPA, an institution in Andalusia where firemen, policemen and other emergencies personnel is trained. I was administrating their LMS, designing their courses and helping users to get 100% out of their platform. Interesting courses, interesting people.

RR: Has your online course design been only for online courses? Or for the purpose of blended learning?

EA: Both online and blended. Police can’t learn how to deal with certain situations on line :-)

RR: Have you noticed any cultural differences in course design within the different countries you’ve lived in?