Member Spotlight: Rodney Hargis

Version 2

He's an "Edutech geek". A musician.  An accessibility champion. And everything in between. Rodney Hargis is all about transforming the LMS experience to meet with today's demands for engagement, efficiency, and experience.

thumbnail_hargis_rodney.jpg

Rachel Reiss: Tell me a bit about your current role?

Rodney Hargis: I am a Senior Analyst in our (Mercer’s) online program, as well as the primary Blackboard administrator. My role is to manage the routine operations; I’m the guy they go to when there are all complex support issues.  I also work with IT to do tighter integration with our Blackboard system and SIS. Our user base has blown up from 4,000 enrollments to 20,000 when we moved from Angel to Blackboard back in 2014, so we serve a lot of people. I was always techy since I got my hands on a computer in the mid to late ‘80s.

RR: How do you think distance learning is going to change in the coming years?