Member Spotlight: Toni Pennacchia

Version 5

GetAttachmentThumbnail.jpgNot only can she hula-hoop for 5 minutes straight, but Toni Pennacchia has some incredible, long-standing talents that are matched by her outstanding contributions to the Ed Tech field. Managing multiple campus' systems is just one of them - read more to find out why this accomplished, knowledgeable IT professional still considers herself a "new traditional student".

Rachel Reiss: Where do you work?

Toni Pennacchia: Johnson & Wales University.  I am at their largest campus, in Providence, Rhode Island, but we have other campuses as well (Charlotte, NC, North Miami, FL, Denver, CO, and a growing online campus).  I am a system administrator for all of them; the administration is central through academic tech systems.

RR: Tell me a bit about your current role.

TP: I do several different things.  For one, I manage the ulearn system, provide QA support and testing for all ulearn upgrades, and resolve any issues that faculty, staff, and students may have.  I am less of a technologist, and do more management.  Such as, I assist in managing our relationship with Blackboard Managed Hosting vendor support engineers, and collaborate with the IT department members and outside vendors on issues related to Bb integrations. Lastly, I maintain academic technology integrations with ulearn like Kaltura Video, Analytics for Learn, TurnItIn, and Starfish.

RR: What challenges arise when working with both physical and online campuses?